Boating accidents include capsizing, people falling overboard, sinking or flooding, explosions, and even fire. They can occur on personal watercraft as well as navy vessels and cruise ships. The damage amount has to be reported if it is over $500 or it is a total loss of the vehicle.
You have a limited amount of time under Portland
Oregon law to report a boating accident. If someone dies as a result of the accident, you have 24 hours to make a report. If there is medical treatment, you must report the accident within 48 hours. If there's property damage, you have 10 days to make a report. Even if it seems like damages are minor, it's best to go ahead and talk with a Portland boat accident attorney at this point. That way, all your bases are covered in the event of a lawsuit.
Even when your injuries seem minor, it is always best to consult your physician. Often the injuries persist or increase in the days following an accident. A qualified Portland boating accident attorney can get you the type of settlement that best suits your needs, like damages for your injuries and compensation for the medical bills you've incurred.
At Peterson Law Offices, we've handled our fair share of Portland area boating accident
claims. If you've been in an accident and feel you may need representation, give us a call.
We believe you will get more money and do less work than if you
handled the injury claim on your own; you can just focus on
recovering from your injuries. Contact Peterson Law Offices by phone at (503) 280-0888. In addition to Portland, we also serve the Oregon and southern Washington areas.